The Apprenticeship Training Program
The IEC Apprenticeship Training Program is a four-year program that will equip the prospective student with the skills and knowledge necessary to have a successful career in the electrical construction trade.
The only age limitation is the apprentice must be at least 18 years of age. There is no maximum age limit to enter the program. The apprentice must be physically capable of performing the various tasks that are required of an electrician.
Our apprenticeship program is approved by the U. S. Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship.
Military veterans may use their VA benefits while enrolled in the apprenticeship program.
Graduates of the apprentice program receive 42 hours of college credit through the Emily Griffith Technical College. These credits are transferable to most colleges or universities in Colorado. College credits can also be earned through the American Council on Education.
Our Chapter works with the Pikes Peak Workforce Center and the Workforce Investment Act. A first – year apprentice who is working for a contractor member, has never enrolled in any apprentice program, and meets the WIA requirements can receive financial assistance during their first year.
The Colorado State Electrical Board requires that an apprentice perform 8,000 hours of on-the-job training and at least 288 hours of supplementary instruction, prior to submitting an application to take the state journeyman exam. For the residential wireman, 4,000 hours of on-the-job training is required.
All IEC instructors are required to hold a current, state – issued master electrician or journeyman electrician’s license.
Students attend class one night a week for 4 hours. There are 18 weeks in each semester and two semesters in each academic year for a total of 144 hours of instruction per year. This will be a combination of lecture, code study and hands-on labwork.
New incoming students are required to take the Math Diagnostic Exam. This exam is not a Pass/Fail exam, but a way to measure the apprentice's ability to do the math required for the lessons. This diagnostic exam is given by appointment or for walk-in's between 10am and 3pm, Mondays through Thursdays, and is free of charge. Any students who score below a 70% will be required to take our Math Refresher course before attending classes. This course gives apprentices a chance to brush up on their math skills before tackling new material.